random

Side Project: D R A G O N S + Friends

It’s been a little while and I’ve been doing a lot on both Script Kiddies and this new side project. Here’s the story:

The Kickstarter didn’t meet its goal, but it was still a really really great experience. As you can see in the previous post, a lot of people really liked Script Kiddies and I was able to meet a lot of new people including many new press contacts. Pretty Sweet!

However, running a Kickstarter sucks the life out of you. It’s super super stressful. I knew that going into it but on top of school starting, I kinda just felt allย blah about Script Kiddies. I really love the game and I know other people have said as much, but I needed a bit of a distraction from Script Kiddies for awhile.

I did a little Blender-ing and learnt the basics of a 3D FPS in Gamemaker. I don’t have a picture from the FPS but here’s what I made in Blender:

first-low-poly-mountain

Pretty proud of that! ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, after all that I started tinkering around with making an Action RPG fighting system. (As a side thought, I was thinking about how even though I haven’t participated in any game jams, I pretty often do these little tiny games where I just get one idea to work or something. I would akin these mini games to making jam games. It’s really fun.) I was thinking about games like Secret of Mana and this really cool indie game called Momodora (1-3). Here’s a GIF of Momodora:

momdora4

Stinkin’ awesome amirite? (check out Momodora 4 by Bomb Service)

The action is so fluid and crazy awesome, and I knew these guys were using GameMaker as well, but I just had NO idea how they were making this work and look so slick.

So I tweeted @rabbit_nabokov and asked him ๐Ÿ™‚

rdein-convo1 rdein-convo2

So basically the way it works is that every attack has two systems tied to it: a cosmetic system and aย hitboxย system.ย The animation is purely cosmetic, it doesn’t do anything, it just runs and dies. The hit box is what really does the collision with the enemy!

Okay so this has been pretty long so here’s the point. I fiddled around with this concept for a day or two and had a totally working prototype in like a week ๐Ÿ™‚ The result is a new little game I’m working on now called D R A G O N S + Friends.

d+f_first_gif

D R A G O N S + Friends ย is a local-multiplayer long-minigame ๐Ÿ™‚ Each player is given a random starting weapon and they fight their way to the top and fight a dragon at the end. Each round should take less than 20 minutes and takes place in two phases:

CLIMBING PHASE: Spikes from the bottom of the screen force the player to climb the floors. Players cannot die from enemy hits but can be stunned which prevents them from attacking for a short time. The goal in the climbing phase is to destroy as many enemies as possible to level up your character without falling into the spikes.

DRAGON PHASE: Once players reach the Dragon they CAN be hurt and die when they’ve lost all of their hearts. Success at the Dragon depends on how well you’ve done in the climb (and how nice the random level-upgrades have been to you ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

The main idea behind the two phases: the game begins very competitively, and ends very cooperatively.

As of right now I have the 5 basic weapon types, 5 enemies, a miniboss, and a working protoype. CHECK OUT DOZ GIFs:

SWORD

d+f_enemies_attack

Sword collisions and early enemy AI

KNIFE

KNIFE

LANCE

LANCE-final

BOW N’ ARROW

d+f_plus_arrows_gif

MAGIC

Magic

I’m excited to keep working on it! Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

– Austin

Standard

2 thoughts on “Side Project: D R A G O N S + Friends

Leave a Reply

